myAfrica BETA

User Guidelines | Account/Register | Get Help
Thabang Samson Phathakge Makwetla
Thabang Samson Phathakge Makwetla

South Africa

Deputy Minister of Defence and Military Veterans

More by user: aismail
Created: 13th May 2009
Modified: 13th May 2009
Professional Information
Professional Areas:
Government of South Africa
Deputy Minister of Defence and Military Veterans
Working primarily in:
South Africa

Biographical Information
Thabang Samson Phathakge Makwetla
(At a Glance)
Date of Birth: May/18/1957
Gender: male
Place of Origin: South Africa

Current Positions

    * Deputy Minister of Defence and Military Veterans of the Republic of South Africa since 11 May 2009.
    * Elected to the ANC'S Provincial Executive Committee (PEC) in Mpumalanga Province (2002).
    * Chairperson of the African National Congress (ANC) in Mpumalanga Province since 2005.

Academic Qualifications

    * Matriculated from Mmabathoana High School in Maseru, Lesotho in 1977.
    * Diploma in Public and Policy Development Administration (PPDA) from Wits Graduate School.
    * Diploma in Social Science from Academy of Social Sciences in Sofia, Bulgaria.

Career/Positions/Memberships/Other Activities

    * Member of the South African Student's Movement (SASM) Polokwane (1974).
    * Went into exile (1976).
    * Joined Umkhonto We Sizwe (MK) (1976).
    * Lived in Angola, Botswana, Lesotho and Zambia.
    * ANC Umkhonto weSizwe underground functionary (1979 - 1990).
    * Treasurer of the South African Communist Party (SACP)

Botswana Region (1986 - 1988).

    * Returned to South Africa after unbanning of political Organisations (1990).
    * Executive member of the ANC Gender Commission (1992).
    * Member of the ANC Youth League (ANCYL), National Executive Committee and National Working Committee (NWC) (1990 - 1994).
    * Member of the Portfolio Committee on Sport and Recreation (1994 - 1996).
    * Member of the Portfolio Committee on Tourism and Environment (1994 - 1996).
    * Member of Parliament (1994 - 2001).
    * Chairperson of the ANC Caucus (1996 - 2001).
    * Member of the Joint Standing Committee on Defence (1994 - 2001).
    * Member of the Joint Standing Committee on Intelligence (1998 - 2001).
    * Member of the Standing Committee on Public Accounts (2000 - 2001).
    * Member of Finance Committee (2000 - 2001).
    * Member of the Ministerial Task Group on Civic Education in the South African National Defence Force (SANDF).
    * MEC for Safety and Security (2001 - 2004).
    * Former member of the National Executive Committee (NEC) of the African National Congress (ANC).
    * Premier of Mpumalanga Province (21 April 2004 - 10 May 2009).
    * Member of the Mpumalanga Provincial Legislature (2001 - 10 May 2009).

Source: Office the Premier

Other Posts from myAfrica

Hiking, South Africa, Wildlife
South Africa, Wildlife, Park

More People

Morocco, Administration
Equatorial Guinea, Spain, Government
Government, Equatorial Guinea
Zambia, Government
South Africa, Science and Technology

Most Active Stories