myAfrica BETA

User Guidelines | Account/Register | Get Help

African Union

Visit their site:

Organization Contacts
  • No contacts provided.

Organization Details

The African Union (abbreviated AU in English, and UA in its other official languages) is an intergovernmental organisation consisting of 53 African states. Established on July 9, 2002, the AU was formed as a successor to the Organisation of African Unity (OAU). The most important decisions of the AU are made by the Assembly of the African Union, a twice-yearly meeting of the heads of state and government of its member states. The AU's secretariat, the African Union Commission, is based in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. During the February 2009 Union meeting headed by Libyan leader Gaddafi, it was resolved that the African Union Commission would become the African Union Authority.

More Organizations

Chad, Financial Services, United States, Canada and Africa
United Kingdom
Nutrition, Environment, ...